Gina Prince-Bythewood, Angela Bassett, Michael B. Jordan and More Will Be Honored at the 5th Annual Celebration of Black Cinema & Television.

The Critics Choice Association (CCA) announced the honorees for its 5th annual Celebration of Black Cinema & Television.

The Critics Choice Association (CCA) announced the honorees for its 5th annual Celebration of Black Cinema & Television.

Bill Bellamy is hosting the event that will recognize 15 categories as part of a star-studded night honoring standout achievements in Black filmmaking and television.

“The Celebration of Black Cinema & Television has grown tremendously over the last five years,” said CCA CEO Joey Berlin. “We’re thrilled to be able to recognize such outstanding projects across both film and television, and to honor these incredible actors and filmmakers for their work.”

The event will take place on Monday, December 5, 2022 at the Fairmont Century Plaza in Los Angeles, CA.

The Critics Choice Association’s Celebration of Black Cinema & Television will be televised on KTLA in January and shown nationwide on Nexstar stations throughout the month of February in honor of Black History Month.

The Show is produced by Madelyn Hammond and Javier Infante of Madelyn Hammond & Associates.

See the list of honorees below:

Berry Gordy will receive the Icon Award for his unparalleled contribution to music, film and popular culture.

Angela Bassett will receive the Career Achievement Award for her extraordinary career and her recent role as Queen Ramonda in the Marvel Studios film, Black Panther: Wakanda Forever.

Michael B. Jordan will receive the Melvin Van Peebles Trailblazer Award for his overall contribution to the industry and in celebration of his directorial debut with the United Artists Releasing film, Creed III.

Scott ‘Kid Cudi’ Mescudi will be honored with the Groundbreaker Award for his starring role as Jabari in the Netflix television event, Entergalactic, which he also created.

Actor Nicco Annan will receive the Actor Award for Television for his role as Uncle Clifford on the STARZ hit series, P-Valley.

Writer and director Elegance Bratton will accept the Social Justice Award for his inspiring work on the A24 film, The Inspection.

Emmy award-winning writer, producer, and actress, Quinta Brunson will be presented with the Actress Award for Television for her role as Janine Teagues on ABC’s hit series, Abbott Elementary, which she created and also executive produces.

Actress Danielle Deadwyler will be honored with the Actress Award for Film for her role as Mamie Till-Mobley in the Orion Pictures and United Artists Releasing film, Till.

Actress and comedian Ayo Edebiri will receive the Rising Star Award presented by IMDbPro for her role as Sydney Adamu on the FX series, The Bear.

Actor Brian Tyree Henry will be awarded with the Supporting Actor Award for his performance as James Aucoin in Apple Original Films and A24’s, Causeway.

Actor Quincy Isaiah will also accept the Rising Star Award presented by IMDbPro for his role as Magic Johnson on the HBO Original series, Winning Time: The Rise of the Lakers Dynasty, available to stream on HBO Max.

Emmy and Critics’ Choice Award nominated Jonathan Majors will be presented with the Actor Award for Film for his role as Jesse Brown in Columbia Pictures and Black Label Media aerial war epic, Devotion.

The Director Award for Film will be awarded to director Gina Prince-Bythewood for her work on TriStar Pictures and Entertainment One’s critically-acclaimed, The Woman King.

Writer/Director Nikyatu Jusu will accept the Breakthrough Film Award for the Amazon Studios and Blumhouse film, Nanny.

The Ensemble Award will be presented to the cast of ABC’s sitcom, The Wonder Years, Elisha “EJ” Williams, Dulé Hill, Saycon Sengbloh, Laura Kariuki, Julian Lerner, Amari O’Neil, and Milan Ray.

About the Critics Choice Association (CCA)

The Critics Choice Association is the largest critics organization in the United States and Canada, representing nearly 600 media critics and entertainment journalists. It was established in 2019 with the formal merger of the Broadcast Film Critics Association and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association, recognizing the intersection between film, television, and streaming content. For more information, visit:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: