Angela Bassett to FINALLY Receive Her Oscars…Honorary That Is


As we wait for Hollywood to give Angela Bassett her long overdue Academy Award in the competitive categories, the legendary actress will receive an honorary Oscars at the 2023 Governors Awards.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced the recipients of the honorary Oscars at the upcoming 2023 Governors Awards. Esteemed actress Angela Bassett, multi-hyphenated creative Mel Brooks, acclaimed film editor Carol Littleton, and former Sundance Institute chief Michelle Satter will all be recognized for their exceptional contributions to the film industry. The 14th annual Governors Awards ceremony will be held on November 18 at the elegant Fairmont Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

READ: 23 Memorable Angela Bassett Movie Quotes

Academy president Janet Yang expressed her excitement about the chosen honorees, stating, “The Academy’s Board of Governors is thrilled to pay tribute to these four trailblazers who have transformed the film industry and served as a constant source of inspiration for generations of filmmakers and movie lovers.” Each recipient has left an indelible mark on their respective fields, pushing boundaries and setting new standards of excellence.

Angela Bassett, widely regarded as one of the most talented actresses of her generation, has captivated audiences with her powerful performances. Although she has been nominated (and should’ve won) for competitive Oscars in the past, including her iconic portrayal of Tina Turner in “What’s Love Got to Do with It” and her recent role in “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever,” Bassett’s exceptional talent has yet to be officially recognized with a win. Her filmography includes standout performances in acclaimed movies such as “Boyz N the Hood,” “Malcolm X,” “Waiting to Exhale,” “How Stella Got Her Groove Back,” and “Black Panther.”

Mel Brooks, a legendary figure in the entertainment industry, is known for his boundless creativity and infectious humor. His exceptional career as a writer, director, actor, and songwriter has made an indelible impact on the world of cinema. Brooks won a competitive Oscar for his screenplay of “The Producers” and received nominations for his work on “Blazing Saddles” and “Young Frankenstein.” His filmography also includes beloved classics like “Silent Movie,” “High Anxiety,” “History of the World — Part I,” and “Spaceballs.” At the remarkable age of 96, Brooks continues to inspire and entertain audiences with his wit and comedic genius.

READ: Angela Bassett Reveals Her Agents Tried to Stop Her From Starring in ‘The Jacksons’ Miniseries + Find out What Grueling Scene from Tina Turner Biopic She Had to Keep Reshooting

Carol Littleton, an esteemed film editor, has carved a niche for herself as one of the most accomplished and respected editors in the industry. With her masterful storytelling skills, she has played a pivotal role in shaping some of the most memorable films of the past four decades. Littleton’s notable works include the iconic “E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial,” for which she received her sole Oscar nomination, as well as “Body Heat,” “The Big Chill,” and “Places in the Heart.” Her dedication to her craft and her long-standing involvement with the Academy’s board of governors as a representative of the film editors branch are testaments to her immense talent and influence.

Michelle Satter, recipient of the prestigious Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, has dedicated her career to supporting and championing independent storytellers. As the founding senior director of the Sundance Institute’s Artist Programs, she has nurtured the careers of countless filmmakers, many of whom come from underrepresented communities. Satter’s efforts have extended beyond the United States, as she has spearheaded international initiatives in Asia, Europe, India, Latin America, and the Middle East. Additionally, her visionary leadership has led to the creation of Sundance Collab, a global digital storytelling community and learning platform.

The Governors Awards, with its rich history of celebrating extraordinary talent and contributions to the film industry, will once again bring together the most influential figures in Hollywood to honor these remarkable individuals. The event promises to be a night of appreciation, recognition, and celebration of the indelible mark left by Angela Bassett, Mel Brooks, Carol Littleton, and Michelle Satter on the world of cinema.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: