Six Original Grownish Cast Members Not Returning For Season 5

In real life graduation usually means it’s time to move and that statement holds true in the land of TV.

Six original Grown-ish cast members will not be returning to the series following the fourth’s season’s graduation finale.

READ: John Clarence Stewart, Shamika Cotton, Miracle Watts Join Season 2 of P-Valley

According to TV Line, the season 4 finale also meant the departures of Francia Raisa (Ana), Emily Arlook (Nomi), Chloe Bailey (Jazz), Luka Sabbat (Luca), Halle Bailey (Sky), and Jordan Buhat (Vivek).

“Francia, Emily, Chloe, Halle, Luka and Jordan will always be a part of the ‘-ish’ family. This new season isn’t a goodbye, we are just expanding the world; there will always be an open door for them to return,” Season 5 showrunners Zakiyyah Alexander and Courtney Lilly said in a statement obtained by Deadline.

However Yara Shahidi (Zoey), Trevor Jackson (Aaron), and Diggy Simmons (Doug) are reprising their roles for the fifth season that will welcome a new set students. One new cast member is Marcus Scribner who plays Andre Johnson Jr aka Junior on Black-ish will segue over to the college-driven series.

He joins the series to embark on his own journey to being ‘grown.’

“For season 5, we’re excited to dive deeper into the storylines of Zoey, Aaron and Doug in their post-grad adventures and welcome a new dynamic class to Cal-U, including Junior (Marcus Scribner).”

Additional casting news is expected soon.

READ: 15 TV Shows and Movies That Highlight Black Mental Health

Also in new news for Grown-ish season 5 are two new showrunners. Playwright/producer Zakiyyah Alexander and executive producer/showrunner Courtney Lilly will take over as co-showrunners. Season 4 showrunner Julie Bean and executive producer Jenifer Rice-Genzuk Henry are departing the show.

Grown-ish season 5 is executive produced by Kenya Barris, Zakiyyah Alexander, Courtney Lilly, Craig Doyle, Yara Shahidi, Anthony Anderson, Laurence Fishburne, Helen Sugland, E. Brian Dobbins and Michael Petok. The series is produced by ABC Signature.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: